I’m an artist! Not an expert at everything! Knowing when to get help!

©2011- The London Eye -Cathy Read - digital image

©2011- The London Eye -Cathy Read - digital image

It’s 2011, the New Year.

Filled with new promises and a new start! But what are your resolutions for the New Year?

One of mine is to ask for help more. I’m something of an independent being. I like to be in control and to do things for myself.

As a result, I often prefer to sort out my own problems? The culture  of “You can do anything” reinforces this.

But the truth is you can’t! No-one can. Sooner or later you will need an expert!

Sometimes you just need to get help!

This concept was reinforced strongly this week. I’ve been having an issue with images not uploading correctly on the website for about 6 weeks. I’ve wasted hours trying to fix it, all to no avail.

So, finally accepting my limitations, I called for help on Thursday! The expert identified the problem within minutes and after a further 2 hours work. Confirmed his diagnosis and fixed the problem!

RESULT! I’m delighted! I can upload images without the major pa lava I had before!

But I’m also annoyed with myself for not seeking help sooner.

So in future, I need to make a resolution! Be prepared to talk to the experts. When?

As soon as the problem arises!

So as the New Year begins.  In order to progress to your goal! Where do you need to ask for help?

IT problems, learning a new skill, managing your career? Whatever it is, know yourself and your limits. Ask for help!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Artistic development, Musings, photographs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.