Photography, snow and the creative muse!

Do you love snow or hate it with a passion bordering on rage?

Does a hit of the white stuff bring out your inner child or Demon!

Snow causing you chaos at the moment?

It is here! We Brits still aren’t prepared for any significant level of snowfall. Much to the surprise of continental Europe and America!

The truth is heavy snow is unusual for us! Scratch that, any snow is unusual for us!

But snow provides masses of inspiration.

My major issue with snow is how to depict it without slipping into the twee. And the association that snow=Christmas.

©2010 Cathy Read-Tingewick Tree

Oops, slipped up there!

But there’s plenty of scope for interest. The snow texture, the icicles, the way trees droop under the weight of the snow, light reflecting and sparkling off the snow, outlines smoothed beneath a unifying blanket. But how to create the image?

One technique I employ is photography.

With digital cameras much of the technical skill is within the reach of most people. But there are some tricks to making snowy pictures work.

All that white tends to dazzle the light meter on the camera so there’s a tendency to under exposure as the camera compensates. It’s something I’m only just getting to grips with. And I’ve a lot to learn from people like digicamhelp.

Being something of a wimp and liking to keep my fingers warm (they work better that way). I tend to photograph scenes to use to make art later.

I don’t class photography as my medium. More a way of “instant sketching” But sometimes the results make me happy! Like this one.

©2010 Cathy Read- Zen Snowman- Digital image

©2010 Cathy Read- Zen Snowman- Digital image

There’s some debate about whether you should draw from photographs. But As long as they’re your own, I see no harm.

With Architecture, for example, pictures can curve upwards.  But I like that effect, and occasionally exploit it!

©2010 Cathy Read - Tingewick Church - Digital image

There’s a school that thinks it’s easier to draw from a photograph because all unnecessary information has been removed. True, perhaps!

But when drawing people I’ve always found it harder to achieve a likeness from photographs compared to reality. Mind you, I’m intimidated with the thought of drawing a real person! Yikes, scary…!

But what I really like about photography is the ease of framing picture and experimenting with composition.

© 2010 Cathy Read -Arrows to Eternity -Digital image

© 2010 Cathy Read -Arrows to Eternity -Digital image

One day I’ll succeed depicting snow with paint, until then my camera is my friend!

Do you have any good ways of depicting  snow with paint? Or are you like me, and sold on photography?

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Experimental, landscape, Musings, photographs. Bookmark the permalink.