The art preview, should I go or stay at home? Networking motivation!

Artist’s are often insular beings.  Mixing with others can be a challenge.

That’s not to say we dislike people, although I could think of a few who… Anyway, I digress.

Over the last 6 months or so, I’ve made a concerted effort to get to openings and meet people. These events have ranged from small local galleries to large art events in London and Manchester.

In the process, I’ve found a few things out about myself.

  • I network better if I’m on my own. If I take a friend I’ll chat with the friend!
  • I actually enjoy networking once I get there. Shocking I know!
  • You never know what will happen!
  • Sometimes, I just don’t want to go!

Take last Thursday, the Preview night of The Wheel Christmas show in Banbury.  The Weather’s been cold, not as bad as other regions, but black ice, frosts, a little snow and mists. Enough to make me want to stay at home, rather than venture out.

Plus, I was struggling with a “should I be going out networking again  instead of being at home with family” guilt trip! Plus my inner couch potato really wanted to remain on the sofa watching TV! (Plus the potential inclusion of a bottle of wine and a roaring fire!)

I enjoy things happening. But the truth is sometimes I panic when it all happens at once.

I know it’s all psychological but the mind is a powerful thing when it goes into overdrive! So how do you talk yourself into doing something when the fear sets in?

I found these strategies have helped:-

  • I remember times when networking has paid off. E.g. selling 3 pictures after a network meeting I’d wanted to miss.
  • I might make a useful contact who opens the door to a floodgate of opportunities. OK, it might not be Charles Saatchi but great oaks out of little acorns grow.
  • I sometimes persuade a friend to come for moral support! I know what I said earlier but networking fails completely if I don’t actually go!
  • I might create a great work of art during the demonstration. Like this one from Rowan’s gallery’s 2nd birthday event.
©2010-Cathy Read-Passion from within- 28x38cm

©2010-Cathy Read-Passion from within- 28x38cm

  • I remind myself of the times I’ve been inspired by other artist’s work. Sometimes awestruck I wish to do the same myself. Or I know I can do soooo much better than “THAT”! Either way I get my brushes out when I return home.
  • I’ve never regretted going but I regret lots of occasions where I bottled out!

So far these strategies have worked!

Have I missed any strategies which work for you? Ones that help to get you motivated and “Out there”? I’d love to hear them in the comments section, I need all the help I can get!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Abstracts, Acrylic, Acrylics, Art promotion, Exhibitions, ink, mixed media, Musings, Publicity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.