Inspired by “poetry” – Jerusalem, Lowry and Jethro Tull!

OK, life is getting pretty chaotic at the moment. Too many deadlines… and not enough TIME!

Don’t you just love it!

Last weekend was Bafa’s “Inspired by a Poem competition”. I’ve spent most of the last month preparing for this as I’m on the committee.

But last weekend I’ve also had a craft fair at the Old Gaol  plus a “meet the Artist” session at Obsidian Arts. The week before was Manchester Contemporary!

So, if I’ve not been painting, I’ve been framing, packing up, ensuring my records were up to date. All this when my other half decided to rebuild the computer – not a good time, but is there ever a good one? So much backing up to do!

Oh, and did I mention I’ve set up my blog with wordpress.org?

Anyway, it all got finished – thanks to burning the candle at both ends.

Here are my entries for the Bafa exhibition.

©2010-Cathy Read- And did those feet in Ancient Times...?- 50.8x40.6cm
©2010-Cathy Read- And did those feet in Ancient Times…?- 50.8×40.6cm

The first one was based on William Blake‘s Jerusalem, and is called “And did those feet in ancient Times…?”

The poem is also a popular hymn.

It’s loosely based on Times mill, you know that mill I’m obsessed with! But with a healthy dose of artistic licence! I’ve played with the mill and the lane by it.

More

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Acrylic. Bookmark the permalink.