11 personal revelations about the art world- plus one about Emin forgery!

Whether you love it or hate it, everyone has an opinion on art!

A fraudster is able to recreate convincing copies of  Tracey Emin‘s work… which fooled art experts!  After only 2 weeks working with the artist!  Am I the only one who thinks that speaks volumes??? The only one with an opinion?

Of course not!

There’s an entire blog post possible of my opinions on Tracey, maybe even 3…But another time! I promised my  revelations on the art world this week!

On Friday I went to the Manchester Contemporary (where coincidentally, Miss Emin was featured – with other up and coming artists)! Immediately, I felt the old prejudices stirring. But I also surprised myself!  I was enjoying works I might previously have considered childish rubbish.  (That’s not to say I didn’t think some were childish rubbish.) And I still won’t pay money for a conceptual work I’m able to create with better technical skill!

It’s never a good thing when I start wondering if I’m looking at art or hardware at an exhibition. E.g when I see staples left in the board or a screw in the wall! I’ve got loads of those already!!!!! They’re entitled “Memory of my old stereo” and “Where the cupboard fell!”.

Display books on “art” made of timber pieces and Grannie shopping bags! Well, they just confuse me more!

But, the result of 2 years arty blogging is  increasing knowledge. My opinions have evolved. My art horizons are expanding.

So I thought I’d share 11 of my revelations so far.

  1. An Art critic’s opinions are just that, opinions. As such they are no more or less important than mine. But the experience and knowledge of the critic means they have influence! On significant numbers of people! Why, because they’ve built up trust over time! Either that or they know how to voice an opinion shared by others.
  2. No one can know everything about art!
  3. Art is subjective. Healthy debate is part of the excitement!
  4. Art is irrelevant! We can argue till the cows come home but it matters not a jot. I might change your opinion, I may not. I may even come around to yours! But the world will not come to an end!
  5. Art is life enhancing – no, I’m not contradicting point 4. Lack of Art is not going to kill you! But its presence brings a quality and dimension to life. It’s ability to motivate and enhance your world is undeniable.
  6. Learning from others is important! Never stop! It forces you to grow.
  7. Building confidence is important. It doesn’t matter how good my art is, if I don’t believe in myself. I must create and market my work or I’ll never succeed.
  8. Show my work wherever I can! An artist who is unseen will never be discovered.

    ©2010 - Cathy Read - Hidden in the Grass - 33.5x25.4cm

    ©2010 - Cathy Read - Hidden in the Grass - 33.5x25.4cm

  9. Just because you studied for 3, 5 or 11 years at university doesn’t mean your works are any better than others. You’ve just learnt how to explain them convincingly!
  10. The best opportunities come from contacts! Don’t forget to network and have those business cards handy!
  11. Maintain the discipline! There is no substitute for daily painting!

So, there they are!

Do you have any more to add? Any pearls of wisdom that you feel every artist should know and own? If so, I’d love to hear them!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Musings. Bookmark the permalink.