Sketchbook motivation ideas – The sketchbook project 2011- the first sketch

For some time I’ve been looking at ways to motivate myself to sketch more. This process has involved some internet trawling where I discovered…

The Sketchbook Project 2011. Actually, I first found  the 2010 project, but was too late for that one. So, “What is it?” I hear you ask. Perhaps with slightly more emphatic language as I’m beginning to ramble after all!

It’s billed as a concert tour for sketchbooks. Basically you sign up and choose a theme. Arthouse coop send you a sketchbook. You fill it with sketches and return to Brooklyn before 15th January 2011.

The books are then catalogued and taken on tour before ending up at the Brooklyn Art Library. Visitors to the tour venues or the library can then choose a sketchbook and look through it.

Isn’t this so cool! I love looking through other people’s sketchbooks, and this way you could spend days doing so! The idea of completing a sketchbook to a deadline is daunting, but I’m hoping it will get me going!

I’ve signed up with an artist friend Mel Makinson! She’s chosen “Coffee and cigarettes” and I’m doing “Down your street” – which I’m expanding to “village”. Hey, what’s the point of “Artistic Licence” if you don’t use it?

The sketchbooks arrived last Tuesday and, so far, I have 3 pages complete. 80 sides in total, only 77 to go! Not a brilliant start methinks! I’m going to have to quicken my pace…

The intention is to spend an hour a day sketching. Which will allow me some leeway, but not a lot. I’ll post my sketches from time to time. Here’s my first!

Church Lane

A view up my street. Note to self – I really must figure out a way of doing trees so I like them!

So, would this motivate you to use your sketchbook more? Will you sign up? It doesn’t matter how good/bad you feel your art is, go on, give it a whirl!

Take part in the Sketchbook Project 2011 here!

BTW I’m not on commission, but, if this is successful, I might see about it next year!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Artistic development, Buildings, ink, Mediums, Musings, project, Publicity, Sketchbook project 2011, sketchbook studies, watercolour and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sketchbook motivation ideas – The sketchbook project 2011- the first sketch

  1. Jess says:

    This is really gorgeous! Watercolour?

  2. cat2read says:

    Thanks Jess! Yes it is watercolour with pen.

Leave a Reply

