Do you notice your taste in art changing?

I always thought I knew what I like in art! But now, I’m not so sure…

I’ve been back home this weekend. Visiting Manchester City Gallery and wandering the city centre with a camera. I remember clearly the first time I went to the gallery as a child. I was fascinated by the Pre Raphaelite collection in particular. Ford Maddox Brown’s “Work” had me spellbound. As a work of social comment, it’s still powerful. I looked at it this time and it still moves me. But not in the jaw dropping way it used to. Maybe it’s too familiar now, I’m not sure…

Manchester’s City Gallery has doubled since I last went, far too many years ago for me to remember. But when I was still living in Manchester. It’s also changed it’s content noticeably since my last visit. Sure, it still shows the traditional 18th and 19th Century pictures.  But it now shows “modern art” shock horror! Or should that be Contemporary Art?

I find with contemporary art that I either get it and love it! Or hate it  with a passion! Secretly my “inner teacher”  wants to write “must try harder” right across it with red pen. But I suspect the museum curators might disapprove! Shame! No amount of persuasive argument will get me past my dislike of poor quality execution. I can understand their ideas and concepts but they lack the Wow factor!

The traditional painting of Greek mythology, landscapes, portraits I can appreciate for their technical skills, dramatic compositions. Yet they don’t excite me in the way that contemporary art can. So, what did excite me most? Possibly this Antony Gormley figure, made from welded steel rings.

Filter, Antony Gormley from Manchester City Art Gallery

More fabulous pictures of the installation here

Or the pictures by Pierre Adolpe Valette who inspired Lowry

1928.37med.JPG

 

 

It may be nostalgia, but I love the atmosphere in these paintings, coupled with the familiar setting –albeit not with the horses!

Here’s Albert Square today!©2010Cathy Read - Albert Square, Manchester

 

The buildings haven’t changed much, just what’s in the square. But it’s not foggy! Or raining!

But I think this is my favourite photograph from the day! The gorgeous Triangle centre!

©2010Cathy Read The Triangle, Manchseter

My quest to educate myself continues! Next week motivating ideas for sketchbooks!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Artistic development, Artists, Exhibitions, Gallery, Manchester City Gallery, Musings, photographs and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Do you notice your taste in art changing?

  1. Jess says:

    Over the past year I have completely changed my taste in art, at least in terms of what I like to create.

    I’ve always admired realistic pencil drawings and sketches, something about the monotone and unfinished effect. So I took a drawing class to help me draw like that…but somewhere along the way I fell in love with bright colours, watercolour, and naive (often silly) drawing and painting!

    For a split second I feel embarrassed to admit my new preference and the snob in me tells me that it isn’t technically good and proficient so it isn’t really art. But then I tell my inner snob to shut up because I have SO much fun with bright colours and drawing what I want even when it isn’t very good!

  2. cat2read says:

    You tell that Inner snob of yours where to go! Thanks for the lovely comment!

Leave a Reply

