Internet…Friend or Foe? – Online promotion of Art –there must be an easier way!

So, do you think the internet is a…Friend or Foe? Does it make your life easier, or soak up huge amounts of time that you’d rather spend elsewhere?

I like to think I’m pretty technology savvy but maintaining my online presence is sometimes an utter nightmare. Take this week! I’ve found some really helpful websites for artist’s wanting to promote themselves I read this article on Facebook Pages at the Art Biz Blog and realised I wasn’t putting credits on my images. Oops, time to sort that little problem out!

Tackling the Facebook page was pretty easy.

Then I decided to update my website! While I was on, I thought I’d upload some new images including this one inspired by stained glass!

©2010 Cathy Read - Stained Glass

You know, multi-tasking!

But having spent 2 hours on it last night, I tried to save … and lost everything! It was late so I decided to retry today. I’ve spent 3 hour so far today and progress had been very slow! One step forwards and ten back!

Trouble is, the software I’m using (Mr Site) isn’t really up to the task! It’s slow and information isn’t always being saved! So, I’ve decided to change my website and link it to my blog here. (Another bugbear with Mr Site is I can’t insert/link this blog directly, so I have to manually add the entry and redo the links…)

But I’m not sure which way to go.

I’ve been using WordPress.com which is good, does most things, including hosting! But limited – there are a few things which have eluded me:- like a gallery which is simple to use and doesn’t take hours to add new pictures!  But I think I’ve finally sorted out that little problem… But will it look professional enough?

So next question is:- Will WordPress.com be the right platform OR…

Do I want/need to switch to WordPress.org – which allows me to do more, like gallery plug-ins but needs a separate  webhosting service? I hadn’t realised there was a difference until about 2 weeks ago… It might be worthwhile! I just don’t know!!!!! AAAAARRRRGGGGHHHHHH!!!!

I have until March to decide – when my domain expires! So I’m gleaning information.

Does anyone have any experience of WordPress.org? If you do, I’d love to know how you found it! Please email or write a comment! I’ll add any useful links at the end of this post.

If you’re considering getting a website started up, and have limited funds (i.e. none) I’d suggest a Facebook Page and the blog option! But go for a blog with pages … and a gallery feature!

And when I figure out which is the best blog option, I’ll let you know!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Abstract - Void series, Abstracts, Acrylic, Acrylics, Art promotion, Artistic development, Internet, Mediums, Musings, watercolour and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Internet…Friend or Foe? – Online promotion of Art –there must be an easier way!

  1. Cathy: I highly recommend wordpress.org. Their .com version would be my 2nd choice.

    Everyone who takes my Blog Triage class ends up wanting to switch to a wordpress.org site when they see the capabilities of others in the class. This was accidental, but inevitable. WordPress.org is a powerhouse.

    And don’t let your domain name slip. Even if you change URLs, you’ll want to keep this one and redirect any links that are already out there.

Leave a Reply

