The joy of mixed media! The crazy things we do for the love of art!

Do you have an obsession?

You know what I mean, a “casual” mention causes you loved ones to groan because they expect you to talk for hours! Or they keep you away from certain shops because you’ll spend the equivalent of the gross national product of a small country?

Like most artist’s, mine is art materials. I’ve managed to keep a lid on things by keeping to watercolour, pastel, oil and acrylic! That was fine…I had all I needed and just needed to top things up when they ran out!

But then I started mixed media painting, and discovered so many more things I “needed”. Like oil pastels for this one…

Faith built on sand

Art material shops are dangerous places! I usually feed my addiction by online sites. But recently, I was made aware of Cass arts (Equals cheap materials in a big shop :-)) They’re not online!

I was in London yesterday and thought I’d explore the shop near Trafalgar square. I was specifically looking for liquid acrylics, but also decided to check out easels.

I’ve been struggling with a field easel for some time now. But large canvases need a studio easel and I was getting fed up with the string holding the legs together. This shop didn’t have the acrylics I needed but their Soho store did and was “just around the corner!

Which was true!

But not nearly as close as their convenient little map card would have you believe. I found the store and about 20 streets not on the map!

They had what I wanted! Result! I opted for a less bulky but more expensive easel – still masses cheaper than anywhere else. Now to get it home. Bear in mind this was a money saving exercise so Taxi’s were out of the question!

Ever tried transporting bags and a boxed easel on the London Underground? During rush hour?

No? Well, here are the highlights!

  • During 10 minute walk to underground – Wishing I’d accepted the nice assistant’s offer to carry the easel to Piccadilly Circus. But don’t fancy the walk back to the shop to take him up on it!
  • At the station I realise I should have walked to Leicester Square (same distance) to save changing trains! There’s probably one closer. But I can’t bear to look!
  • Getting on packed trains with large boxes is like playing Tetris… near the top!
  • Dragging boxes along platforms causes easels to break out of boxes!
  • Makeshift handles tend to collapse!
  • You can do a really good comedy sketch where people jump/are knocked out of the way by carrying said box on your shoulder!
  • Easel is now home, obsession satisfied until I go to an art shop again!

Next time I’ll use the delivery service!

Do you have an obsession that makes you do stupid things? I’d love to hear it!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Abstracts, Artistic development, Buildings, Mediums, mixed media, Musings, Painting subjects and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

