Going back to my roots – art links with Manchester

I might have mentioned I’m a Lancashire lass – queue Gracie Fields song! – Sorry, but my Mum was always singing her songs when I was growing up! Certain words now have a Pavlovian link to her! Gracie that is, not my Mum.

I’m finding the local art market here in Bucks is a bit too conservative for my style. In an effort to find the right market, I’ve been looking for more urban outlets. Oxford is close, so is an obvious choice. But as a Mancunian Ex-pat I feel it is my duty to keep the home fires burning – to continue with the WW2 analogies – Ssh! Don’t mention the war! I did it once but I think I got away with it!

To this end I’ve been re-jigging my publicity material. Every gallery or competition wants either an artist statement, CV or blurb of some kind!

The artist statement and blurb for websites have been pretty straightforward. But I’m struggling with my CV or Résumé – whatever you want to call it! Trouble is, it’s still looking pretty thin. I need to get something interesting to add to it. But it’s the old Catch 22 situation. Still, it’s looking better now than a year ago and it’s done now.

My goal for next 6 months is to enter as many competitions as I can afford to! – They range from £10 –25 per entry so it can get very expensive! And there’s no guarantee your work will be accepted so I’ll have to choose carefully! Any good suggestions? Please email me or post in the comments! I need all the help I can get!

I just finished my entry for the Royal Academy!  But that’s not until March/April next year. And I’m not posting it until after the competition is closed! Just need to find more comps before then!

The next thing to sort out before approaching galleries is which artwork to show. Having decided to look towards the Mancunian Market and having a burning desire to do more urban scenes. I spent my last trip home getting suitable resource images of Mills. I’ve converted some of these to finished artwork to put on the website of Manchester Artists.

Spirit of Times

These 2 are my favourites so far! I’ve used Times Mill (above) before, I don’t know what the fascination is with it, but it’s pretty strong. I can almost smell the factory as I paint!! That’s to say, the smell was always pretty strong. Nearly as bad as the brewery, but I digress!

Man vs Nature

The second, Lodge Mill, is also in Middleton. But still standing, although in a very sorry state. I’ve prettified it a bit because I wanted a “living” mill. It’s a bit more representational than intended but I’m happy with the finished effect.

Just need to decide on 4 more!

I’m off to Manchester this weekend. Originally, I was planning to approach some galleries. But plans change and I’ve the opportunity to sketch at the Houses of Parliament next week. Too good an opportunity to miss – already have an idea for a painting! Not sure it’s respectful! You’ll have to give me the verdict when it’s finished?

So I’ve decided to postpone the approaches and set about some gallery research on Saturday. Wish me luck! Something else to fill you in on next week!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Acrylic, Art promotion, Artistic development, Mediums, Mills, mixed media, Musings, Publicity, Times Mill and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

