Steps to art success part 2– when networking pays off!

Last week I spoke about fate! What happened following the meeting?

I finally persuaded myself to go. I was immediately asked if they could see my portfolio. I didn’t have it! Disaster, what should I do?

Intense moment of panic…

Then I remembered I’d arranged to collect some artwork after the meeting, ready for the Art Fair. As the shop was around the corner, I could easily collect it earlier, simple. I nipped out and returned laden with paintings. My work was greeted enthusiastically! So worth the effort… and great for my artistic ego!

One lady, Naomi, I knew from my son’s old school. She was very impressed by my artwork and promised to help with promotion!

Fast forward to  Monday last week.

Naomi phoned me to ask if I had work suitable to give to three teachers who were leaving the school. Within  half an hour she came around with another friend, Wendy, whom I also know! Over coffee (or water in Naomi’s case), they perused my art portfolio, choosing 2 pictures.

This one

Chrysanthemums

and this one! Which was completed on Friday.

Encounter

And commissioning a third! Talk about result!!!!!

Mental note to self… Always take portfolio to network meetings in future!

It will be my new mantra in, I will repeat and never forget – in best Dory voice.

And to think, I nearly didn’t go!

Have you even felt positive divine intervention in your career?

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Abstract, Abstracts, Acrylic, Acrylics, Artistic development, flowers, ink, Mediums, mixed media, Musings, Painting subjects, watercolour and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Steps to art success part 2– when networking pays off!

  1. Pingback: The art preview, should I go or stay at home? Networking motivation! | Abstract Artist Cathy Read

Leave a Reply

