Urban Decay – finding art inspiration in the neglected places of childhood!

Nostalgia is a dangerous thing! Let the past be, move on and look forward!

It’s a concept I’ve pondered for a long time. By seeking information about the past, am I moving backward?

Possibly? But have you ever had a burning desire to create art inspired by the past?

I grew up in Manchester.  Amidst smoke blackened cotton mills, crumbling and dilapidated. Partially derelict,  ghosts of more prosperous days.

Daily I passed active, smelly mills walking to school. The contrast between these vast edifices and the green fields beyond impressed me and still does. I always felt the buildings were beautiful.

Not just the fabric of the buildings, but as a poignant reminder of success the result of suffering. Exploitation at it’s worst.

Ironically, it’s not a thing of the past. While countries such as India and China have appalling labour laws, this is as much a contemporary issue as it is nostalgic. Only the locations have changed.

After a year mulling over ideas for art based on these buildings, I found this article on urban decay in Epbot. Some painting ideas are deep seated. A Primal need for the art to emerge.

Spurred by a childish fascination with their vastness tinged with sorrow at the inevitability of decay. I was inspired with renewed vigour and set on a quest. To root out images of the buildings that were the backdrop to my childhood. Now long since gone.

But I was still unsure how I wished to tackle the subject. Images were fine…but what medium to use.

It needed a textural approach. After creating work in the style of Mike Bernard during a recent mixed media class. A Light bulb moment occurred…

This was my first attempt!

 Times Mill

What do you think?

Me? I can see a series emerging…

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Acrylic, Acrylics, Buildings, Collage, ink, landscape, Mills, mixed media, Times Mill and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Urban Decay – finding art inspiration in the neglected places of childhood!

  1. sartenada says:

    This is what I love. To paint near historic places is very good idea. I say that Your painting is better than any photo from this factory.

    I have some photos from paintings showing our near history too:

    http://sartenada.wordpress.com/2010/05/03/amateur-paintings-pinturas-de-aficioinados-peintures-d%e2%80%99amateur/

    Regards.

Leave a Reply

