Finishing a sketchbook – completing my moleskine

There is a point with a sketchbook where finishing it also causes anxieties. I’ve referred to the fear of starting a new book in my last post. But I’ve now found that finishing can also be stressful.

Why? You may well ask. I started a little moleskine sketchbook just over a year ago and it’s been my constant companion this last 14 months. I’ve started sketching in earnest since I began it. My constant companion has gradually been filled with many precious memories in those small sketches. Looking back on these sketches I have a sense of pride. It’s a book that marks a turning point in my understanding and use of the sketchbook! I desired my final images to be a Swan song, a testament and final lasting impression.

It was whilst doing the last few sketches, sitting close to water, I realised how distressed I would be if I actually dropped it into the canal. It became something of an obsession!

Sunset

Mercifully the obsession did not become reality and I now have a finished book. Ironically doing this watercolour, I dropped my travel brush in the canal!

We went fishing for it with various long items, but it is lost for good! I’ve managed to source a replacement but it wasn’t easy. (The lock gear sketch on the next page has bled through, so I’m not using those pens again!)

Lock gear Foxton Lock gates

So, these are my final two sketches. Drawn on a chilly but sunny morning. Standing by a canal lock with boats going through.

Moving items which a year ago I would never have tackled. I think that’s progress, don’t you?

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in canal, ink, Moleskin, sketchbook studies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

