The fear of the blank page – starting a new sketch book.

If there’s one thing any artist or writer will tell you, it’s that there is nothing more terrifying than a blank page. The potential for ideas is phenomenal. A blank page can be literally anything. There is power in shaping it’s structure. But will it be a great creation or something best confined to the rubbish bin?

If you have an idea, it’s fine. But when the dreaded block appears, abject terror sets in! What shall I do? Should I experiment with something new or work on a carefully crafted creation? You can think of nothing, zip, nothing, nada!

Now, as I’ve mentioned before, imagine starting a new sketchbook, a really nice one. The feeling is multiplied. It’s not just fear it’s fear cubed! The first page is always the worst! Psychologically there’s a desire for perfection. First impressions are everything after all!

So it was yesterday I was presented with this!

The new sketchbook

I ummed,

I arrrred,

I procrastinated!

I had an idea!…

No, it wasn’t right!

I had another idea!…

Not enough time! Or was there?

Finally I just picked up a pen and drew what was outside the window, this was the result! I had to work fast. It was already after sunset.

First sketch

So the book is started! Only another 79 pages to go!

Is there a more scary point than starting a new sketchbook?

Perhaps finishing? But more of that tomorrow!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in canal, ink, landscape, sketchbook studies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

