Quick on the draw – detailed drawing versus the quick sketch – watercolour sketch of Stowe Arch.

Do you sketch timidly? Each line a careful construct. Agonising over each line before committing it to the page?

Or do you rip, smudge, and generally befoul the paper in your enthusiasm to record your ideas? Before the transient, creative thought dissolves into the ether.

I could digress here about the nature/importance of the quick sketch versus the considered drawing, but I think that might be best in another post. 

For a long time I was in the first category. Afraid to draw because I wanted each picture to be a perfect creation. But now I’ve discovered the joy and freedom of sketching as opposed to drawing. There is a difference and I’ve finally found out what it is!

I now have both feet firmly in the second camp. The joy of sketching is that the more you do it, the better you become. And the better you become the more you do it and the more like the “perfect drawing” your sketches become. You can have your cake and eat it!

That’s not to say that when I start a new sketchbook I am not gripped with fear. The desire to fill it with the most perfect images possible! But I’m learning to take the messy with the perfect now. It’s been a long time coming!

“Unfinished” drawing were always a source of concern but I’ve finally found the confidence to experiment. This is a sketch I did yesterday by Stowe Arch, enjoying the peace and quiet!…

Stowe Arch

(By “quiet” I of course mean…Motorbikes riding up the drive and the gentle hum of cars circuiting the track at nearby Silverstone)

So, thinking about how to use your sketchbook? Need more inspiration? Have a look at these guys. Also “An illustrated Life” by Danny Gregory  is an inspiring book – I may have mentioned it before but I’m not on commission! I just lurve this book! His page on facebook called Every Day Matters has a weekly challenge to get you going. It’s inspiring seeing other people’s creations!

So, don’t be afraid to sketch! It’s only a piece of paper and the more you draw the better you get!

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in landscape, Musings, sketchbook studies, watercolour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quick on the draw – detailed drawing versus the quick sketch – watercolour sketch of Stowe Arch.

  1. sami Alam says:

    wow… such a wonderful post…
    outstanding balance of lines and words….
    Learnt a lot from you….

    visit mine… & plz plz plz post your comments….

    Thank you…

    I’ll be in touch…

  2. Pingback: The fear of the blank page – starting a new sketch book. « Cat2read's Blog

Leave a Reply

