How to go from sketch to finished painting – Part 6 – chess board pattern

What is it about working in a church that makes me want to sing inappropriate tunes? Song such  The Dentist from Little shop of Horrors or Science Fiction from Rocky Horror or Tom Lehrer’s “Poisoning pigeons in the park!

What can I say? I’m a bad girl and I shouldn’t be singing them. But as soon as I get in there all I can think of are the songs I shouldn’t be singing! It’s like when you go in a library you just want to shout! You know you do!

Anyway, I’ve been fighting the use as the painting continues.  An area, bottom left, now has a chess board like pattern. These are the photos of the masking out and painted board.

Masking squares Painted squares detail Painted squares

I started sketching in the figure again but it wasn’t working well so I’m going to tackle it on paper, actual size, and then draw around it. The figure is a whole different stories which I might discuss later. Let’s just say she’s based on my life drawing model and leave it at that shall we?

I’ve just the figure to do now, some twiddling and some splattering.

(So looking forward to the splattering.)

I’ve been seriously frustrated at the time it’s taking to complete. But I think I can see the wood for the trees, finally! Wayhay!

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Acrylics, project, Wall panel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

