Which 3 paintings do I submit to an Art Exhibition at Stowe? Understanding the market.

How do I choose which art to submit to an exhibition! Today is the handing in day for The Stowe Easter exhibition with the Preview night this evening.

I live in a rural area and the local art market can best be described as “safe”. That’s not to say that there is no edgy and interesting work to be seen locally. Just that it tends to be the pictures of the traditional country painting like the ones  here there’s no doubting the technical ability present in some cases is staggeringly high.

So in such a climate how do I decide which pictures to feature at a local exhibition.

Do I choose work which I think will sell. Well obviously the answer to that is yes! But what is going to sell, if anything? I feel a touch of self-doubt creeping in here. I’ve learned I need to be pretty thick skinned, rejection comes as an occupational hazard for any artist.

I could choose art which caters for the traditional market, but so many people are already doing that style of work, and doing it very well in some cares. I’m not sure I want to fit into that mould but I have decided on one “traditional” piece entitled “Praia do Castelejo” – pronounced with a Portuguese accent.

I think it demonstrates my ability at a realistic style.

For the remaining two choices I’ve decided I need to showcase my unique qualities. Which is why I’ve gone for 2 abstracts. As it is for an Easter exhibition, I felt one of my Cross images was most suitable so chose “He became sin for us”.
He became sin for us
This is quite a reflective piece. The patterns symbolising various sins.
And finally I reveal

“Reveal” as my third choice.

Reveal

This is possibly my favourite, I just hope other people like it as well!

Now, I have to wait to see what the reaction is! Watch this space and you’ll find out.

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Acrylics, landscape, sea, Uncategorized, watercolour and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Which 3 paintings do I submit to an Art Exhibition at Stowe? Understanding the market.

  1. Pingback: How to go from sketch to finished painting – Part 5 – creating the lettering style – yet more masking. « Cat2read's Blog

  2. Pingback: How to go from sketch to finished painting – Part 6 – chess board pattern « Cat2read's Blog

Leave a Reply

