Competitions

I entered 3 pieces in “Buckingham Art for All” exhibition,

This was my personal favourite, the tribute piece I discussed last week.

It is  titled “1 in 10,000,000+ Reflections on a life lost”

I had slight technical problems, the acrylic medium hasn’t cured properly yet and one of the sheets has movedas a result. Apart from that I’m pleased how well it turned out and that the images lined up correctly when viewed from the front!


The image is of my Great Uncle Albert who went missing in action on 8th June 1918. The layers represent
White = spirit and soul
Red = bloodshed
Brown = mud and the dirtiness of war
Black = death both actual death but also death of possibility and potential.
The images show aging at the front, something he will never do.

17/11/09 I’ve found out that I received a “Highly Commended” for my entry in the BAFA exhibition. I just need to find out which entry received the award!

Update: 27/11/09 Just found out that they decided not to commend anyone as there was a joint first!!! So I was right! Why do I not feel happy about that?

You might also like:
About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in Competition entries and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Competitions

  1. Pingback: Speaker’s House – an artistic privilege! « Cat2read's Blog

Leave a Reply

