Everything but the kitchen sink

For over a year now I’d carted a large bag with a selection of drawing materials in it. It started when I read a book on watercolour painting and the author suggested a wooden box containing various paraphanalia with the box axting as an easel. I have to admit that the box has gone by the wayside but I’ve been adhering to the practice rigidly since then. Why? Well, I have a family and often find myself sitting waiting for children at various appointments plus you never know when you might get the chance to sketch – the other day I was blocked in a parking space by an ambulance dealing with an emergency – All I could do was wait, so I drew as I waited. Today I was caught in a downpour,  so I delayed setting off and drew – get the picture.

So, I now carry the following with me, everywhere!

1. One set of travel brushes- they fold in on themselves

2. One set of travel watercolour paints

3. One small moleskine sketchbook

4. One larger sketchbook, approximately A5 but it varies

5 . One set of 12 watercolour pencils

6.  One putty rubber

7.  One pencil sharperner – the kind that hold the shavings

8 . One folding ruler – a lovely old wooden one

9. A small bottle – containing water

10. A small aeresol lid – acts as a water pot

11.  A small piece of sponge

13.  Some tissues

14.  A pack of 4 drawing pens, varying widths.

15. A tin of 6 pencils graded B-6B

It means if I get the chance to sketch, I’ve no excuse not to and it REALLY helps. I’ve always tended to avoid buildings but often they’re all I get. Which stretches me. I don’t mind them so much now! Secondly I’ve finally started to Sketch rather than draw, a truly liberating experience.

This was done over the course of a few weeks of snatched 5-10 minutes. Not a materpiece but it demonstrates the effectiveness of the practice.Western Avenue

About cat2rread

Artist creating abstract art using mixed media. I believe there should be beauty in art, but sometimes it takes an artist to show others what is truly beautiful.
This entry was posted in sketchbook studies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

